Roanoke Route Walking Tour Stop 3: Newman's Barbershop

Newman’s Barbershop, 1930

110 N. Oak St.

In the late 1880s and early 1890s, this site originally housed the town's first livery stable, serving as a place where individuals could bring their horses for feeding, stabling, and care. This 1930s building was initially home to Newman's Grocery. Over the years it underwent several transformations, including becoming Newman's Barbershop. Adjacent in the parking lot, Andy Alexander's garage once occupied the space that used to house the town's blacksmith's shop. Today, it is the home of Oak Street Pie Company.

The town’s first livery stable was on the east side of Oak Street where Newman’s Barbershop and various other businesses would later reside. They included Granny’s Cupboard in 2000 and 2 Doors Down in 2006. 

Livery edit 2012917

Grannys Cupboard 2000 20214441

2 Doors Down 2006 20213925