Roanoke Route Walking Tour Stop 9: Ward's Creamery/Army Barracks

Ward’s Creamery/Army Barracks, 1910 

504 Oak St.

Dating back to around 1910, the small building situated behind the elongated section originally served as Ward's Creamery. Initially the creamery was located farther south on Oak Street, close to trail markers #2 and #3. During the 1940s, Raymond and Bessie Clark relocated the creamery building to its present location, where it became their residence.

Following World War II, Roanoke had the opportunity to acquire three former Army barracks from Abilene, Texas, to be used as residences. Mr. Clark seized this opportunity to expand his home. He disassembled the barracks and transported the materials back on a flatbed truck. This structure is the sole remaining barrack in Roanoke. After Mr. Clark's passing, his son Johnny Clark resided in this building with his wife, Ann, and their daughters until the 1980s. In 1993, the Classic of Roanoke purchased and renovated the building, becoming a cherished establishment in the community, contributing to Roanoke's designation as the 'Unique Dining Capital of Texas.’

Ward’s Creamery originally was located across from the bank on Oak Street, but in the 1940s Raymond and Bessie Clark relocated the creamery building to its present location.Creamery 201754Creamery1 2023316

Mr. Clark bought the World War II-era barracks to expand his home. Barracks 201213146